The Senate is the most important of the university's self-administrative bodies. The Senate decides on interdepartmental matters of fundamental importance such as the university's constitutional order, university development planning, the range of courses, key areas of research, appointments, awarding of academic degrees, special honours, the advancement of women and young academics, etc. and the university statutes.
The Senate elects the President and Vice Presidents of the university.
The members of the Senate are elected for four years (university staff), or one year (students). Their term of office begins on 1st March (staff) or 1st October (students).

The Senate has four permanent committees for: